Gananda Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Set for October 2, 2022

Gananda Central School District is proud to announce the selection of seven inductees to the Gananda Athletic Hall of Fame.  Athletes being honored are: Mike Dermady (football, basketball, baseball), Neil Halvorsen (football, basketball, baseball, and swimming), Thomas Mills (basketball, golf), Ryan Roach (cheerleading, softball), Kaylee Quigley Smith (volleyball, basketball, softball), and Lindsey Stowell (softball). The 2011 Gananda Girls Basketball Team is also being honored for their undefeated season and NYS Championship Title.

An induction ceremony with a served breakfast will be held on October 2, 2022 at Blue Heron Hills Golf Course beginning at 10am. Tickets are $30 a person and can be purchased via mail. To purchase tickets, send a check to Gananda Central School District at 1500 Dayspring Ridge, Walworth, NY 14568 to the attention of Rachel Morabito. Checks can be made out to Gananda Sports Boosters. Please also include your email so you may receive a confirmation email. The deadline to purchase tickets is September 23, 2022.  Contact Rachel Morabito with any questions at [email protected].



2022 Hall of Fame Inductees:


Mike Dermady is a 2007 graduate who played football, basketball, and baseball.  Mike won League Championships in both football and basketball and was a key member of the 2007 basketball team which captured the Class C Section V crown.  Mike was a two-time 1st team All League Selection in football and a two-time 2nd team All League selection in basketball.  Mike ranks 2nd in All-Time Section V career receptions and 11th in All-Time Section V career receiving yards.

Neil Halvorsen is a 2005 graduate who played football, baseball, basketball, and swimming.  He was a three-time All County selection in baseball as a catcher. Neil was a two-time All League selection in football as quarterback, and he qualified for sectionals in swimming.  He is a two-time Gananda Athlete of the Year.  Neil continued his baseball career in college, playing for both MCC and Keuka College.   

Thomas Mills is a 2011 graduate who excelled in basketball and golf.  He was a two year Varsity basketball starter. In golf he was a six year Varsity golfer who was a three-time First Team All League selection.  In 2011, he was chosen as the Wayne County Golfer of the Year.  He was also the Section V Class B Individual Champion in his senior year. Thomas holds the record for most Varsity Career wins with a record of 83-15-1.  Thomas went on to play four years of Varsity golf at SUNY Oswego.

Ryan Roach is a 2010 graduate who excelled at cheerleading and softball.  She was a five-year Varsity Cheerleader and in 2010, she won the Wayne County Individual Championship and was selected as a Ronald McDonald House cheerleader.  In softball, Ryan was a four-year Varsity player; playing both 2nd base and pitcher.  She was a key member of the teams winning two Section V Class C titles and multiple Wayne County titles.  In her senior year she was selected Class C 2nd team All State.

Kaylee Quigley Smith is a 2010 graduate who played volleyball, basketball and softball.  She earned All Greater Rochester honors and Wayne County Player of the Year in Softball.  She was the pitcher for the 2010 Softball Team that won a Section V Class title and advanced to the State Final Four where she was selected as First Team All State.  She earned multiple 1st Team All League Honors.  Kaylee also earned a Section V title in volleyball and was selected as Gananda Athlete of the Year. 

Lindsey Stowell is a 2010 graduate who was a 4 year Varsity standout in softball. She was a three-time team captain, and she was a key member of the teams winning two Section V Class C titles and multiple Wayne County League titles. Lindsay was a four-time Section V Class C All Tournament selection. In 2010 she was selected Wayne County Player of the Year, Class C MVP  and 1st Team All State.  Lindsay went on to play Division I softball where she was also selected team captain.

The 2011 Gananda Girls Basketball Team who had an undefeated season. They won the Class C New York State Title and also captured a Wayne County League title.  They were coached by the late Tony Morabito.